A powerful research tool for the serious or casual visitor.
Home > Government > Before 1960

Election results 1891List of officers elected to the various towns on Tuesday March 10, 1891


Supervisors - Charles McDevitt, Peter Lynch, Frank Dowdle Jr

Clerk - E. F. Kennedy

Treasurer - P. Moran

Assessor - J. F. Fahey

Constable - Oscar Sequist
Burnsville Elected officials 1902Supervisors - Frank Dowdle chairman, James Fitzgibbons, P. J. Welsh.

Town Clerk - E. F. Kennedy

Treasurer- James McCoy

Assessor - Joseph Fahey

Justice of the Peace - E. F. Kennedy

Constable - Nicholas Welsh
1939 Taxes for BurnsvillePublished January 27, 1939 Dakota County Tribune - listing Burnsville home and property owners and taxes.
1952 Election resultsIncumbant Bud Hayes received 97 votes to be elected supervisor, Glen Taylor a sticker candidate received 28 votes. Pat Connelly, incumbent clerk was re-elected with 128 votes. Bernard Raleigh was named Justice of the Peace. The town voted to accept the Rosemount Fire Department protection proposal...Money levied was $950 for town fund and $6000 road and bridge $450 fire fund.
Burnsville Town Meeting 1939March 24, 1939 - Dakota County Tribune

The annual Burnsville town meeting March 14, 1939...
Burnsville Village Hall 1960sThe first Village Hall was a small room within the maintenance garages on what is now County Road 5. This original building is now used by Ames Construction.
Burnsville Village Hall 1960sThe first Village Hall was a small room within the maintenance garages on what is now County Road 5. This original building is now used by Ames Construction.
Dakota County's first trucks arrive 1924This Hastings Star May 8, 1981 News of Yesterday features Dakota County's First trucks. Likely, one or more of these trucks were seen working in Burnsville.
Burnsville plans new town hall 1957Burnsville Township sold the District 16 school building Monday night to Ed Giles for his bid price of $360.00.

There were about 25 persons present at the auction sale, Francis Byrne of Farmington was the auctioneer.

Giles will be building the school into a house and it must be moved by August 15....

The Township is planning to construct a new town hall on old Lyndale Avenue. About 3 1/2 acres have been purchased from Clarence Nelson. (This is now the site of Ames Construction on County Road 5).

At first the building will be a one story, concrete block structure...
Burnsville 1860 minutesA transcript of the 1860 Burnsville minutes confirms, no prior records exist.
Elected officials 1902March 21, 1902 Dakota County Tribune - Burnsville's elected officials.

Supervisors - Frank Dowdle (chairman), James Fitzgibbons, P.J. Welsh
Town Clerk - E. F. Kennedy
Treasurer - James McCoy
Assessor - Joseph Fahey
Justice of the Peace - E. F, Kennedy
Constable - Nicholas Welsh.
Burnsville considers new town hall - District 15 school sold.August 1, 1957 Dakota County Tribune - Burnsville considers a new town hall.
Don't go to jail - HastingsArrested in Burnsville, you could end up in the original Jail at the County Seat in Hastings. Photo 1962 before building torn down.
City of Burnsville recordsA photograph of the original records for Byrnesville/Burnsville.
City of Burnsville recordsA photograph of two pages from the original records of Byrnesville/Burnsville.
Interior of the new town hallThe new Burnsville town hall had its first election Tuesday. Shown casting her ballot is Mrs. Henry Vollrather, Loop Road, Orchard Gardens. Bartley McAndrews and Patrick J. Connelly are the election clerks at the table. Charley Fischer, right standing, is the election judge receiving the ballots. Edward Doebel standing, Wallace Day, seated. Photo by Shirley Ryberg.

Also - A Good Irishman. During his 26 years as its village clerk, Pat Connelly has watched Burnsville grown from 500 persons (most of whom he knew by name) to move than 8000. The paperwork and detail of the Dakota County community have become "too much to handle" along with his 220 acre farm, says Connelly. He will retire from office on April 1 and will be succeeded by Mike O'Connor, a newcomer to Burnsville last summer. "But he's a good Irishman, and that's what counts," Connelly said. The Burnsville Village Council this week honored Connelly for his long service.
Former Burnsville OfficialsFour former members of the Burnsville Town Board posed March 1982 - shown are Jim Connelly former treasurer, Wally Day former board chair, Ed Doebel former trustee and Pat Connelly former town clerk.
Savage Post Office now serves 11,000 in Savage - Burnsville area 1964The October 29, 1964 Dakota County Tribune features an interview with then Postmaster Jim McCoy. He grew up on a farm in Burnsville at the corner of Highway 13 and Nicollet Avenue (near the Warrior Building). He attended District 15 School he joined the Post Office in 1949.
Where public notices will be posted 1890Dakota County Tribune - September 25, 1890

This is to certify that the following are the three places where all public notices are posted.

One at the school house in district 15.
One at the school house in district 16.
One at John's Berrisford's Store.

Ed Kenedy
Town Clerk
Burnsville Government 1890March 20, 1890 Dakota County Tribune lists elected officials in Burnsville.

Supervisors - M.W. Nicholson, Charles McDavitt, Peter Fahey

Clerk - E.F. Kennedy

Treasurer - Patrick Moran

Assessor - John F. Fahey

Justices - E. F. Kennedy, J. J. Carrigan

Constables - Timothy Carrigan, J. McNamara

Burnsville Elected officials 1901Burnsville Elected Officials 1901

Supervisors - Charles O'Neill chairman
John Slater, Peter Lynch

Town Clerk - J. F. Fahey

Treasurer - Charles McDonald

Assessor - E. F. Kennedy

Justice of the Peace - John Regan (O'Regan)
Constable - Timothy Regan Jr. (O'Regan)
21 files on 1 page(s)